Hold and Win vs Hold & Spin: 2026 Slot Features
Hold & Spin, Link&Win, LockNWin and other slot bonuses often share a three respin pattern. Compare the triggers, upgrades, jackpots and RTP options across 2026 releases.
Published
Quick Verdict
- Verdict
- Hold & Spin, Link&Win, LockNWin and other slot bonuses often share a three respin pattern. Compare the triggers, upgrades, jackpots and RTP options across 2026 releases.

This guide is part of our Slot Mechanics series — covering the mechanics, math, and strategy behind modern slot design.
Best Casinos to Play These Slots
Top-rated casinos recommended for the slots covered in this guide.
Hold & Spin. Link&Win. LockNWin. Hold the Jackpot. Amazing Link. Hold and Ring. Flaming Link. Studios like to give the bonus round a trademarked name of its own, and a new name can make a familiar feature sound like a new invention.
Most of the time, it's the same mechanic. We have catalogued 168 active slots released in 2026 with a hold and respin feature; from 72 providers and with 12 different feature names. The core loop changes very little. What matters is in the details: how does the round start, what can upgrade the locked symbols, whether jackpots are fixed or progressive, and which RTP version the casino runs. Sometimes.. a familiar-sounding name means something else entirely.
What every version has in common
SpinPlay's paytable for Amazing Link Zeus Boost describes the template almost word for word. Six or more special symbols trigger the feature. You get three respins. Those symbols lock in place, and every new one that lands resets the counter to three. Each symbol carries a cash prize, the round ends when the respins run out or the grid is full, and filling every position awards the top prize.
Big Time Gaming's documentation for Monopoly Megapots follows the same pattern: six or more symbols, three respins, and a reset every time a new symbol is revealed. Once you know that pattern, the branded names are easier to sort out. Check what each studio changes.
Name by name: what each studio adds
Hold & Spin
Hold & Spin is the most widely used branded label in our 2026 catalogue, and the games behind it vary the most. In Monopoly Megapots, four Houses merge into a Hotel that collects every Coin on screen. Each space that frees up gets a random x2 to x200 multiplier. The vendor sheet lists a maximum exposure of 98,850x stake.
Play'n GO's Tower Run Treasure Steps moves the feature onto a 5×5 grid with three "lives" in place of three respins. You don't trigger it by landing coin symbols. It opens when a meter reaches nine wins within a single spin. Pragmatic Play's Lucky Drums 88 splits the round across two 5×3 grids, one gold and one silver, and each starts with three respins.
Hold and Win (the generic name)
Many 2026 games simply call it Hold and Win. Mancala Gaming's Clover Vault: Progressive JP is a useful example because it shows how much a "plain" version can carry. Its trigger is five symbols on the middle row. Collector symbols gather coin values during the bonus. The Mini and Minor jackpots are fixed, but the Major and Grand are progressive. Vendor material lists a 95% RTP and caps wins at 50,000x the bet.
Link&Win
Link&Win is the label used by several Games Global partner studios. In Infinity Dragon Studios' Black Sails: Kraken's Hoard, coloured scatters collected beforehand each unlock one of up to four Treasure Chest Upgrades for the round. One of them splits the grid into multiplier zones worth up to 10x. A separate Bonus Surge layer powers the advertised top win of over 11,500x.
Hold the Jackpot and Cash Infinity
Wazdan tags these two names together, so treat them as a single system. The respin round is called Hold the Jackpot. Cash Infinity symbols are sticky cash values that can stay on the reels from the base game into the bonus. In 25 Coins x3000, the whole game is built around that round. Filling all 25 positions awards a 3,000x Grand Jackpot, and the documented RTP is 96.19%. 9 Balls lists a 96.04% RTP and a 2,500x cap, and adds Wazdan's selectable Volatility Levels.
These are the lowest maximum wins in this guide. That does not automatically make them worse games. The cap alone does not tell you how often smaller bonuses pay.
Amazing Link
SpinPlay keeps the standard round with three respins. The one addition in Amazing Link Zeus Boost is the Amazing Boost symbol. After every respin, it raises its own prize by a random amount. Filling the grid awards the MEGA prize.
LockNWin
PearFiction's Breezin Riches has three separate LockNWin rounds, which you can trigger together by collecting across several spins. Its Topgraderz symbols are where the extra value comes from. Boosts add 1x to 25x the bet to collected cash, and multipliers apply x2 to x100 to a random cash symbol. The documented RTP is 96.01%, with wins up to 10,000x.
Check the RTP version before you play a PearFiction game. The vendor page for 4 Cherry Bonanza lists three versions: 96.00%, 94.02% and 92.03%.
Hold and Ring
Zillion Games' name for the round has a slightly different trigger. In Pharaoh's Secret, it starts with six bonus symbols, or five plus a Boost symbol. Boost symbols add up the values of the bonus symbols. A Mystery symbol can become any jackpot except the Grand, which you only win by filling every cell. The listed RTP is 95.25%.
Flaming Link
Gamomat uses Flaming Link to add a hold and respin round to its classic fruit titles. 40 Finest XXL Flaming Link takes the original 5×4 layout with 40 paylines and adds the bonus. Its listed RTP is 96.11%, with medium volatility. If you know the original game, the new mechanic is easy to spot.
When a familiar name means something else
The name is not always a reliable guide. Three 2026 games that our catalogue files under this family show why you should read the rules first.
The feature can depend on your bet level. In Kalamba's Gold Mint 7s Deluxe, the Hold and Win bonus can only trigger in the base game at bet levels 3 and 4 of its four HyperBet modes. The game rules list a theoretical payout of 92.93% at level 1, rising to 94.33% at level 4. Its Cashpots are the jackpot tiers within that round, not a separate mechanic.
The same brand name can describe a different feature. In Kalamba's Sultan Express 7s, Cashpots are instant prizes for any three or more Cashpot symbols in view. The rules describe no hold and respin round at all. The theoretical payout is 94.04%.
"Collect" does not always mean a hold feature. In Pragmatic Play's Fire Stampede Ultimate, Connect & Collect is a chain of adjacent symbols that awards prizes when it reaches special positions on reels three and six. The game has separate Respins and Cash Respins rounds. Both start with three spins, and sticky symbols reset the count.
Side by side
This table only includes figures that appear in the vendor material we saved. "Not stated" means that material did not give the figure, not that it is zero.
| Game | Provider | Feature name | Documented RTP | Documented top win | Demo |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Monopoly Megapots | Big Time Gaming | Hold and Spin | 86.29%, 94.18% to 94.20%, or 96.45% | 98,850x | Play demo |
| Clover Vault: Progressive JP | Mancala Gaming | Hold & Win | 95% | 50,000x | Play demo |
| Tower Run Treasure Steps | Play'n GO | Hold & Spin | Not stated | 30,000x | Play demo |
| Black Sails: Kraken's Hoard | Infinity Dragon Studios | Link&Win | Not stated | Over 11,500x | Play demo |
| Breezin Riches | PearFiction | LockNWin | 96.01% | 10,000x | Play demo |
| 25 Coins x3000 | Wazdan | Hold the Jackpot | 96.19% | 3,000x | Play demo |
| 9 Balls | Wazdan | Hold the Jackpot | 96.04% | 2,500x | Play demo |
| Amazing Link Zeus Boost | SpinPlay Games | Amazing Link | Not stated | Not stated | Play demo |
| Pharaoh's Secret | Zillion Games | Hold and Ring | 95.25% | Not stated | Play demo |
| 40 Finest XXL Flaming Link | Gamomat | Flaming Link | 96.11% | Not stated | Play demo |
| Gold Mint 7s Deluxe | Kalamba Games | Hold and Win (bet levels 3 and 4) | 92.93% to 94.33% by bet level | Not stated | Play demo |
A higher top win does not automatically mean a better game. A 98,850x ceiling and a 3,000x ceiling can come with similar RTPs. The maximum win alone does not tell you how often either game delivers its largest payouts.
How to size up a version you have not seen before
Whatever the feature is called, the same six questions tell you most of what matters:
- Trigger: how many symbols, and where? Six anywhere is common. Clover Vault wants five on the middle row, and Tower Run uses a win meter.
- Respins: three that reset is the standard. Look for lives, extra rows or a second grid.
- Upgrades: collectors, boosts, multipliers and mystery symbols are where the studios compete.
- Jackpots: fixed or progressive, and what you have to do to win the top one.
- Bet level: some games, like Gold Mint 7s Deluxe, only open the feature at higher bet modes.
- RTP version: Monopoly Megapots and 4 Cherry Bonanza both publish several. The game's info screen at your casino shows which one you are playing.
The fastest way to answer most of these is a few minutes in demo mode. Every game in the table has a free demo. Here are the two cleanest examples together:
Can't decide? Test-drive both side by side.
- 1Both slots load in one full-screen player.
- 2Tap A or B at the top to flip between them. Each game keeps its place.
- 3Play money only. No sign-up, no deposit.
A demo shows how a feature works. It cannot verify an RTP or a top win, and a short session says nothing reliable about how often the feature triggers. For the full list, see our Hold and Win slots page.
What we checked
We took these figures from our database on 23 October 2026. The 168-game count covers active slots with a 2026 release date, tagged with a hold and respin feature under any of its names. It leaves out Money Collect, which describes a different collect mechanic. Every game named above has a published SlotsOnFire review and a demo page.
We compared each featured game's mechanic description, RTP and top win against the vendor material we have saved: product sheets, paytables, game rules and vendor websites. Where those sources did not state a figure, the table says "Not stated". We did not fill the gap from our own database, because in several cases the stored value did not match the vendor's. We left out two games whose saved vendor material did not describe the tagged feature.
We have not quoted trigger rates. Fewer than one in ten of these games has a documented bonus frequency, which is not enough for a fair comparison. This is a selection of examples, not a ranking of providers, and it does not cover every 2026 release. Casinos can run different RTP versions, so check the game's information screen before you play. Our sourcing and methodology page explains how we separate vendor specifications from our own calculations.
Tags
Andrew Mueller is the founder of SlotsOnFire and holds a B.S. in Electrical Engineering (BSEE). Since 2008, he has leveraged his analytical background to deconstruct complex slot mechanics, focusing on the mathematical integrity and algorithmic logic behind RNG systems.
